mariadb/sha2-family-functions.git
4 years agoRemove reference to modified version of Crypto++ master release-0.1
Kristian Fiskerstrand [Sun, 8 Nov 2015 18:09:58 +0000 (19:09 +0100)]
Remove reference to modified version of Crypto++

It works fine out of the box

4 years agoAdd mysql to include paths
Kristian Fiskerstrand [Sun, 8 Nov 2015 18:08:14 +0000 (19:08 +0100)]
Add mysql to include paths

4 years agoInitial import
Kristian Fiskerstrand [Sun, 8 Nov 2015 17:56:43 +0000 (18:56 +0100)]
Initial import

 The SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm) family is a set of related
 cryptographic hash functions. The most commonly used function in the
 family, SHA-1, is employed in a large variety of popular security
 applications and protocols, including TLS, SSL, PGP, SSH, S/MIME, and
 IPSec. SHA-1 is considered to be the successor to MD5, an earlier,
 widely-used hash function. The SHA algorithms were designed by the
 National Security Agency (NSA) and published as a US government
 standard.

 The first member of the family, published in 1993, is officially called
 SHA; however, it is often called SHA-0 to avoid confusion with its
 successors. Two years later, SHA-1, the first successor to SHA, was
 published. Four more variants have since been issued with increased
 output ranges and a slightly different design: SHA-224, SHA-256,
 SHA-384, and SHA-512 - sometimes collectively referred to as SHA-2.

 This library use a modified version of Crypto++. The difference is that
 the type definition of byte is moved into the CryptoPP namespace to
 avoid ambuigity with the MySQL definition of the same type. The
 provided .diff-file is against version 5.2.1.

 The library was compiled using the following command

 g++ -shared -o mysql_sha.so -I/usr/local/mysql/include mysql_sha.cpp
 /lib/libcryptopp.a

 The MySQL prototypes that are provided by this library are

 CREATE FUNCTION sha512 RETURNS STRING SONAME 'mysql_sha.so';
 CREATE FUNCTION sha384 RETURNS STRING SONAME 'mysql_sha.so';
 CREATE FUNCTION sha256 RETURNS STRING SONAME 'mysql_sha.so';